Animation in email marketing helps create memorable messaging

Using animation in email has become more common, and continues to catch my attention when used in a compelling way. I received two emails this week that made me stop to look based on the animation alone. I consider these effective at drawing my eye to specific part of the email.  Had they not been animated, I likely would have spent less time digesting them.

1) Piperlime – each shoe in this ‘wheel’ appears one by one, so it starts with nothing in the email and quickly fills up with a bunch of cute shoes in a counter-clockwise fashion.  I quickly paid attention to each pair of shoes for a moment as it loaded, to see if any of the styles caught my eye.  In this sense, the product was truly the hero and Piperlime was able to showcase multiple styles, have me consider them individually, and simultaneously realize that there were a LOT of options within this Dolce Vita sale.

 

 

piperlime animated

2) Seamless – the hand pointing to the one-day 15% off discount moves in and back out on the left-hand side, leading my eye to pay attention to that specific area of the email and really hammering home the discount % as the focal area.

Screen Shot 2013-05-21 at 4.34.07 PM Screen Shot 2013-05-21 at 4.34.01 PM

I believe these are two good examples of how companies helped the customer focus on a specific aspect of the email while using simple animation to make the email more unique, fun and memorable than just a basic image alone would have achieved.

Leave a Comment

