Anthroplogie.com takes a layout cue from Pinterest

I was just on Anthropologie.com and noticed that they’ve made their product pages similar to Pinterest in the look and feel. They’ve walked away from a standard grid format, and the default styling is now a staggered approach more encouraging of constant scrolling and discovery.

Here’s what happened when I clicked on the “Dresses” in the standard left-navigation menu:

Screen Shot 2013-11-05 at 10.50.49 AM

They give consumers the option to revert to a standard grid format in the top-right corner. I wonder if they are A/B testing each layout as the default to see which results in more clicks and purchases.  If not, I’d encourage them to do so!  I would be so curious as to the results.

As you scroll down, you see a “back to top” arrow similar to Pinterest as well:

Screen Shot 2013-11-05 at 10.51.03 AM

 

I’ve seen lots of aggregator sites mimicking the Pinterest approach (Lyst, Styleseek, etc), but I haven’t seen individual retailers employ this technique on their site. I wonder how effective it is.

Leave a Comment

